24’ Amy Christina and the Victory were the last remaining old Couta Boats in the Phillip Island – San Remo area. Amy had been in the vicinity since being built in 1946 at Rosebud by Alec Lacco for Cowes fisherman and boatman, Bill Kennon. She was named after Bill’s wife, Amelia Christina Burgess.
In 1954, Bill sold the Amy to Charlie Richardson of Rhyll where she remained for nearly seventy years, changing hands only four more times. In 2006 when she was purchased by John Jansson together with John and Rosalie Counsell.
After a six-month restoration of the hull, Amy Christina was returned to the sea at Rhyll on Saturday 3rd February 2007.
She is a stunning boat of historical significance – Amy Christina is listed in the ‘Australian Register of Historic Vessels’ on the Australian National Maritime Museum website. She is built with kauri, has a beam of 9’ and a draft of 2’6”. She would be a fast and highly competitive division two boat. She requires upkeep and restoration.
Read more on the Amy Christina here.